Clearwater Police Home
Stop On Red Home
About Our Program
How It Works
Traffic Safety Camera Locations
Notice of Violation
Frequently Asked Questions
Frequently Asked Questions
- What kind of violation will be issued and what would the fine be?
Red light running is a violation of Florida Statute 316.074(1) and 316.075(1)(C)1 and carries a $158 statutory penalty.
- What happens if I ignore the Notice of Violation?
If you fail to respond, a Uniform Traffic Citation ("UTC") will be issued to you. YOU MAY BERESPONSIBLE FOR COURT FEES AND COSTS. Upon issuance of a UTC, you shall have the remedies specified in Florida Statutes 318.14, which include the right to have a hearing before a designated official, who shall determine whether an infraction has been committed. If the official concludes that no infraction has been committed, no costs or penalties shall be imposed. If the official concludes that an infraction has been committed, the official may impose an additional civil penalty not to exceed $500 and court fees and costs.
- Will I receive any points on my driving record for this Infraction?
No. This is a civil infraction that is not reported to the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles.
- Will my insurance rates be affected?
No. This is a civil infraction, and it is not reported to any insurance agencies.
- My payment has already been sent; will I still be charged late fees?
Late fees will NOT be assessed when your payment is postmarked on or before the due date located on the front of your Notice of Violation.
- I paid the violation; why did I receive another Notice?
The Notice you just received could be for additional violations or it could be a second notice for a delinquent citation. If it is a Delinquent Notice, chances are that your payment and the Notice crossed in the mail. It can take as many as 10 business days to show in the system once it has reached our office. Call 1-877-847-2338 to confirm that your payment was received.
- Do I have to pay my fine the day of the hearing?
You must pay the full fine amount within 60 days of a liable judgment.
- What if I was issued a citation from an officer for the same offense?
If you assert that a UTC was issued by a law enforcement officer for the violation of Florida Statute 316.074(1) and 316.075(1)(C)1, then you must include the serial number of the UTC with a sworn affidavit For faster processing, you may, but are not required to, include a copy of the UTC.
- Do cameras photograph every vehicle passing through an intersection?
No. Cameras are set so that only vehicles that enter the intersection after the light has turned red are photographed. Vehicles entering the intersection on yellow and are still in the intersection when the light turns red are not photographed. The camera system only takes pictures when a violation occurs.
- How are the intersections selected?
The City of Clearwater identified three intersections with a higher rate of red light running and red light running crashes based on data from 2009 to 2010. All intersections are listed on the Traffic Safety Camera Locations information web page.
- Who will determine what constitutes a violation?
All violations are reviewed and certified by police department personnel. Any vehicle that enters an intersection, including the crosswalks, after the light has turned red is in violation and subject to a fine.
- How is the timing interval determined between the red, yellow and green traffic lights at an intersection?
The State of Florida is responsible for determining the traffic light timing intervals. Times at signals is determined based on variables such as the posted speed limit, typical deceleration rates of vehicles, the grade of the road (uphill or downhill), the width of the intersection, and the amount of time it takes a driver to see the yellow signal and react (perception & reaction time).
- What happens if my vehicle is caught running a red light?
The photo enforcement system captures the violation. The contracted company reviews and validates the violation and sends it to the police department. Police department personnel review the evidence captured by the system and either accepts the violation for civil penalty or dismisses the violation due to circumstances that are either acquired by the monitoring system or observed in the video evidence. If the violation is confirmed, personnel will then obtain the vehicle owner’s information for mailing of the notice and issue a citation with a $158 statutory penalty. The registered owner of the vehicle will receive the violation notice in the mail with instructions for viewing the violation.
- How do I review the violation and pay the fine?
You will be provided with three still photographs of your vehicle on the printed violation notice. You can review the red light violation via the internet at
www.photonotice.com. You can access your violation by entering your notice number, license plate number and the city code (CLWTFL). Both video and still photo evidence is available for review. The vehicle owner/driver can request a court date for the evidence to be heard in Traffic Court. Payment can also be made by check or money order via the mail or at www.photonotice.com. NO CASH WILL BE ACCEPTED. Payment can be made by credit card via the internet site.
- Do you give drivers a red light running warning period at the location where a camera system is activated?
Red light running is a violation of the law at every signalized intersection. The warning period only applies to the use of the automated enforcement camera system. The warning period is considered a part of the public awareness process for implementing or expanding the automated enforcement program.
- What happens when the camera captures a city vehicle?
City owned vehicle violations are processed in the same manner as the citizen violations. Police personnel review each violation and either accepts or rejects it. Violation notices are mailed to the address listed on the vehicle's DMV registration. The violation is treated as a personnel matter.
- What happens when the camera captures a commercial motor vehicle or a vehicle that is owned by a company or state or local agency that has a fleet of vehicles?
The violation notice is mailed to the registered owner the same as any other vehicle.
- What if I still have additional questions?
Contact the Clearwater Police Department Special Operations Section at 727-562-4166.